November 20, 2017 | BluPrairie

BluPrairie CEO honored for Leadership Innovation

On Monday, November 13, 2017 the Technology Association of Iowa hosted the 10th annual Iowa Women of Innovation Awards. Per TAI, these awards are given to recognize and celebrate women in business, academia, government, or who are leaders in the field of science, technology, engineering and math.

The daylong event included time spent with students grades 8-12, networking, and the award ceremony.

The winners were selected based on their professional experience, history of innovation, ability to think creatively and solve problems, and demonstration of leadership. Along with the professional women winners, two students were awarded $2,500 scholarships. These winners were picked and judged on inventiveness and accomplishments in science, technology, and academic achievement.

We are proud to share that BluPrairie’s own Michelle Bates was honored with the Leadership Innovation award.

BluPrairie Founder and CEO, Michelle Bates, is a transformational technology leader with more than 20 years of experience in Fortune 500 and start-up companies. This Kalona-born, self-proclaimed information hound is the former Director of IT Architecture Services for a Fortune 500 Aerospace and Defense leader. Throughout her career, Bates has had extensive experience working with cloud service providers, such as Google and Amazon Web Services™. Michelle has built BluPrairie into an independent cloud strategy and design partner that helps businesses, governmental agencies, start-ups, and institutions of higher education leverage new technology to do business differently. As an Iowa-based, woman-owned technology company, BluPrairie distinguishes itself by applying a people-first model to drive business transformation.

Fellow 2017 winners:
Research Innovation and Leadership: Dr. Alicia Carriquiry, Iowa State University
Academic Innovation and Leadership: Deborah Kent, Drake University
Entrepreneurial Innovation and Leadership: Amy Lank, American Power Systems, Inc.
Leadership Innovation: Michelle Bates, BluPrairie
Company Innovation and Growth: Kum & Go
Rising Star: Bailey Anderson, Principal Financial Group
Diversity Champion: Amanda Pietsch, John Deere
STEM Champion: Chris Cournoyer, Quad City Engineering and Science Council
Legislative Advocacy Leader: Debi Durham, Director, Iowa Economic Development Authority

Student winners and recipients of $2,500 scholarships:
Collegian Innovation and Leadership: Patricia Izbicki, Iowa State University
Youth Innovation and Leadership: Danielle Panning, Valley Lutheran High School